Perfect Love

Teresa Poucher

Do you like to give gifts?  Don’t you love it when you know exactly what someone would like?  Some people know how to buy the perfect gifts but are uncomfortable accepting them.

So how is it that we can give love yet have a hard time receiving it? Maybe one doesn’t feel worthy. Whether that stemmed from childhood or a bad relationship, it should not affect how you accept God’s love.

Adam and Eve had it made until God came to visit after they sinned, and Adam said, “I was afraid,” and they hid. How can they have this wonderful communion now?

I’m so thankful God loves us. “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.” (I John 4:18)

Maybe you have a different reason for finding it difficult to receive love. However, fear has played a role in my life. Funny how we can’t fix something until we know it’s broken.

Fear has torment. Strong’s Concordance defines torment as “correction, punishment, or penalty.” Well, I want to avoid all of the above yet still give and receive love. Fear is a byproduct of sin. I repent of sin regularly, so there is no reason I need to fear. With God’s help, I’m casting out fear in Jesus’s name. I desire to love like God loves and enjoy communion with Him and his creation.

A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.” (John14:34)

So, what is keeping you from having perfect love?

Published by Tpouch

My day starts with a cup of good coffee and a talk with Jesus. I started walking with Jesus when I was eighteen. That was In March 1979. I have fought many battles. No I haven’t won them all, but I have learned how to not only survive but thrive. Let me share with you...

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started